a separate Department in 1910. It is authorized and governed by the Department of Insurance Act (RSC 1952, c. 70). Under the Superintendent of Insurance, who has the status of a Deputy Head, the Department administers the statutes of Canada applicable to: insurance, loan and trust companies incorporated by the Parliament of Canada; provincially incorporated insurance companies registered with the Department; British and foreign insurance companies operating in Canada; small loans companies and money-lenders; co-operative credit societies registered under the Co-operative Credit Associations Act; and civil service insurance.

Under the relevant provincial statutes the Department examines trust companies incorporated in the Provinces of Manitoba and New Brunswick and loan and trust companies incorporated in the Province of Nova Scotia.

International Joint Commission.—This Commission was established under a Britain-United States treaty signed Jan. 11, 1909 and ratified by Canada in 1911. The Commission, composed of six members (three appointed by the President of the United States and three by the Government of Canada) is governed by five specific Articles of the Boundary Waters Treaty of 1909. The Commission's approval is required for any use, obstruction or diversion of boundary waters affecting the natural level or flow of boundary waters in the other country; and for any works in waters flowing from boundary waters or below the boundary in rivers flowing across the boundary which raise the natural level of waters on the other side of the boundary.

Problems arising along the common frontier are also referred to the Commission by either country for examination and report, such report to contain appropriate conclusions and recommendations. In addition, questions or matters of difference between the two countries may be referred to the Commission for decision, provided both countries consent.

The Commission reports to the Secretary of State for External Affairs of Canada and to the Secretary of State of the United States.

Department of Justice.—This Department, established by SC 1868, c. 39, now operates under authority of the Department of Justice Act (RSC 1952, c. 71). It provides legal services to the Government and various government departments including preparing and settling government legislation, settling instruments issued under the Great Seal of Canada, regulating and conducting litigation for or against the Crown, superintending the acquisition of property and prosecutions under federal legislation other than the Criminal Code, administering federal statutes dealing with legal matters and providing administrative services for the Supreme Court of Canada and the Exchequer Court. The Department also superintends the penitentiaries and administers the prison system of Canada, and administers the provisions of Canadian anti-combine legislation.

The Commissioner of the Royal Canadian Mounted Police operates under the direction of the Minister of Justice who also reports to Parliament for the National Parole Board and the Restrictive Trade Practices Commission.

**Department of Labour.**—The Department of Labour was established in 1900 by Act of Parliament (SC 1902, c. 24) and now operates under authority of the Department of Labour Act (RSC 1952, c. 72). The Department administers, under the Minister of Labour, legislation dealing with: industrial relations, investigation of disputes, etc.; fair employment practices; the regulation of fair wages and hours of labour; reinstatement in civil employment; female employee equal pay; government annuities; government employee compensation; merchant seamen compensation; technical and vocational training assistance; vocational rehabilitation of disabled persons; annual vacations with pay. It promotes joint consultation in industry through labour-management committees; organizes manpower utilization programs, e.g., farm labour; and operates a Women's Bureau. The Department publishes the Labour Gazette and other publications, as well as general information on labour-management, employment, manpower and related subjects.

The National Technical and Vocational Training Advisory Council and the National Advisory Council on Rehabilitation of Disabled Persons act in an advisory capacity to the Minister of Labour, and the Merchant Seamen Compensation Board reports to the Minister of Labour. The Department is the official liaison agency between the Canadian Government and the International Labour Organization. The Unemployment Insurance Commission reports to Parliament through the Minister of Labour. The Canada Labour Relations Board administers certain provisions of the Industrial Relations and Disputes Investigation Act.

Library of Parliament.—The Library of Parliament as such was established in 1871 (SC 1871, c. 21) although it existed earlier. It currently functions under RSC 1952, c. 166 and SC 1955, c. 35. The Library of Parliament keeps all books, maps and other articles that are in the joint possession of the Senate and the House of Commons. The Parliamentary Librarian is also responsible for the House of Commons Reading Room. Persons entitled to borrow books from the Library of Parliament are the Governor General, Members of the Privy Council, Members of the Senate and the House of Commons, Officers of the two Houses, Justices of the Supreme Court of Canada and the Exchequer Court, and members of the Press Gallery. In addition, books are lent to other libraries and government agencies and reference service is given to scholars. The Parliamentary Librarian has the rank of a Deputy Head of a department and is responsible for the control and management of the Library under the Speaker of the Senate and the Speaker of the House of Commons assisted by a Joint Committee appointed by the two Houses.